About Us

The Shelby County Law Enforcement Personnel Board provides a public personnel system based on merit principles. It strives for constant improvement of public service by employing and developing the best qualified people available. Every job applicant is rated solely on his/her ability without regard to race, color, religion, gender, national origin, age, marital status, veteran status, disability, or any other legally protected status.

Shelby County, Alabama
Law Enforcement Personnel Board Members

Front Row L to R: William Martin, Teddy Brasher, Don Thornton
Back Row L to R: Randall Donaldson, Lyle Mitchell

Board Members

Teddy R. Brasher
11/21/1979 - Current
Appointed by State Legislative Delegation
William M. Martin
12/16/1988 - Current
Appointed by State Legislative Delegation
Randall W. Donaldson
11/28/2005 - Current
Appointed by Sheriff
Lyle D. Mitchell
6/4/2015 - Current
Appointed by SCSO Employees
 Donald Thornton
04/12/2019 - current
Appointed by Shelby County Commission
Click here to download a copy of the Board Rules adopted November 2017. 
Former LEPB Members    
Christopher J. Lewis, Sr.  9/29/2015 - 04/16/2019  Shelby County Commission
Kimbrough, Julia C 10/27/2014 - 6/18/2015 Shelby County Commission
Weatherford, Bruce P 9/15/2005 - 5/31/2015 SCSO/SCCF Employees
Morris, Kevin W 7/17/2012 - 8/5/2014 Shelby County Commission
Bice, Jimmy W 10/13/2010 - 1/31/2012 Shelby County Commission
Dudchock, Alex A 11/24/2009 - 10/13/2010 Shelby County Commission
Mitchell, Lyle D 5/16/2006 - 11/24/2009 Shelby County Commission
Johnson, Mickey L 4/1/2003 - 8/8/2005 SCSO/SCCF Employees
Hall, Mark R 11/19/2002 - 3/3/2003 SCSO/SCCF Employees
Chapman, James E 10/17/2000 - 5/16/2006 Shelby County Commission
Spears, Mitchell A 10/22/1998 - 10/15/2002 SCSO/SCCF Employees
Hull, Michael H 6/17/1996 - 10/17/2000 Shelby County Commission
Benintende, A J, Jr 10/12/1993 - 6/17/1996 Shelby County Commission
Haskew, Helen H 8/17/1993 - 10/4/2005 Sheriff
Prescott, Robert K 1/16/1991 - 8/17/1993 Sheriff
Amaro, Vincent J 11/13/1990 - 10/12/1993 Shelby County Commission
Swatek, William E 1/19/1988 - 9/25/1998 SCSO/SCCF Employees
King, J B, Jr 8/18/1987 - 1/14/1991 Sheriff
Dillard, Larry S 4/2/1980 - 7/19/1988 Sheriff
Scruggs, Doris "Dot" J S 8/20/1980 - 11/13/1990 Shelby County Commission
Johnson, Mickey L 11/21/1979 - 11/17/1987 SCSO/SCCF Employees
Cox, Crawford 11/21/1979 - 7/19/1988 State Legislative Delegation
Ballard, Douglas H, Sr 11/21/1979 - 5/21/1980 Shelby County Commission
The SCLEPB began holding meetings on 5/12/1978 with Teddy Brasher as Chairman, and Crawford Cox and Billy Knowles as members.  
The Board was officially established by Act #79-524 of the Alabama State Legislature on 7/30/1979.  
Secretaries to the LEPB included Brenda Parsons (1980), Betty Rayfield (1981 - 1992), and Lucy Womac (1992 - present).  



Benefits for All Employee Classifications 

Fringe Benefits for all positions include group medical insurance, pension plan, paid vacation, holidays, and sick leave, educational and fitness incentives, and job security. 

How to Apply 

All career opportunities require the successful completion of a written exam administered by the Law Enforcement Personnel Board. Applications for employment will only be accepted during sign-up dates listed in our Calendar and under News. You may download an application and submit by mail. 

For further information please check out the pages here within our website by following the links on the left or using the Search box at the top of the page.  If you need further assistance, please contact the Shelby County Law Enforcement Personnel Board at (205) 670-6121.